Chicken over spinach.. That’s how I get my husband and myself eat some spinach. We don’t like our greens but are aware that those leafy veggies are important so here’s who I do my chicken with spinach.

What do we need?

  1. 2 chicken breasts
  2. 1/2 onion minced
  3. 1 tomato puréed 
  4. 1/2 tbsp ginger garlic paste
  5. Some peas
  6. 1 cup chopped spinach leaves
  7. Salt to taste
  8. 1 tbsp fresh ground black pepper
  9. 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  10. 1/2 tsp ginger powder
  11. 3 tbsp Oil for cooking 

Let’s get cooking

Grill the chicken breasts

I them grilled on charcoal but that’s not possible all the time.. So I use a grill plate on gastove to grill the chicken.

  1. Marinade the chicken breasts with salt, ginger and garlic powder for a minimum of 1 hour.
  2. On a hot grill plate drizzle some oil and grill the chicken breasts. Cook one of the breast first and then flip over. 

Spinach

  1. In a pan heat oil. Add the ginger garlic paste and cook for a few minutes. Don’t let it stick but until it starts releasing the aroma.
  2. Next add in the minced onions. Cook until the onions start browning and oil starts to separate.
  3. Now add in the tomatoes, salt and black pepper and again cook till the oil starts to separate.
  4. Spinach goes in now. For a little while or as you want your spinach to be. I like to cook my spinach a little as cooked spinach helps in absorbing a lot of vitamins. 
  5. Add in a peas and stir for 2 more minutes

Bring them together

  1. On a plate put the spinach and top it with the grilled chicken and enjoy! 
